Monday, July 30, 2018

Nine Inch Nails-Quake OST

Released on June 22, 1996 from id Software, the music soundtrack to the video game Quake is a soundtrack album of instrumentals written by Trent Reznor and performed by members of the live version of Nine Inch Nails in Reznor, drummer/programmer Chris Vrenna, guitarist Robin Finck, multi-instrumentalist Danny Lohner, and keyboardist/programmer Charlie Clouser. The album would be a mixture of industrial rock that NIN had popularized along with some ambient music that Reznor would later explore into his film score work more than a decade after the release of the soundtrack.

The album opener is its main theme as it is driven by pulsating beats, looped guitar riffs, soothing synthesizers in the background, and looped screams by Reznor as it would soften up into this eerie ambient piece in the middle. Aftermath is this haunting track filled with sounds of winds mixed in with warbling and soothing synthesizer textures with soft beats in the background as it help maintains a mood for the game. The Hall of Souls is another ambient-based piece with sounds of droning and buzzing synthesizers in the background with some siren-like textures in the background and other warbling noises that help add to horror of the game as the sound would intensify as it goes on with sounds of dripping synthesizer drones. It is Raped is a mesmerizing track that is also ambient-based but with its layers of buzzing synthesizers and pulsating beats in the background under the sound of soft yet siren-like synthesizer swirls and electronic textures that fade in and out as it includes bits of saxophones.

Parallel Dimensions is based mainly on loops though sounds of a thumping beat and fan-like sounds in the background with warbling synthesizers as it maintains this repetitive sound of loops as it appears on one of the game’s levels to help maintain that dark atmosphere. Life is this hypnotic track led by this sound of warbling yet heartbeat-rhythmic synthesizer loop with swirling electronic backgrounds that appear as it help add to the sense of terror and suspense. Damnation is a cut that is largely-based on dark ambient textures with its eerie and soothing synthesizers, buzzing electronic sounds, soft yet metallic percussive beats, and sounds of insects that would intensify in sound as it help play into the suspense.

Focus is this cut that slithers with its synthesizers and warbling electronic textures that would build up with sounds of bubbling guitar textures as it would maintain this atmosphere of terror that goes on in the game. Falling is a short three-and-a-half minute piece of droning and ominous sounds of electronic textures with low-key beats in the background that appear in the middle with windy and machine-like sounds. The album closer The Reaction is a track that feature crackling sounds that would appear in the background with soft metallic percussion loops and dissonant electronic textures that would by layered by sounds as if it’s playing underwater which add to the dark atmosphere during the game.

The soundtrack to Quake is an excellent album from Nine Inch Nails as well as fans of the game series. Though it’s more of an experimental record of sorts that would later pre-date some of the recordings Trent Reznor would make more than a decade later. It is still a fascinating album that showcase a brief period of Reznor doing a small project that would later be a precursor of the work he would do in the world of film. In the end, the soundtrack to Quake is a superb soundtrack album from Nine Inch Nails.

Nine Inch Nails: halos: halo 1 - halo 2 - halo 3 - halo 4 - halo 5 - halo 6 - halo 7 - halo 8 - halo 9 - halo 10 - halo 11halo 12 - halo 13 – (halo 14) – (halo 15) – (halo 16) – (halo 17) - (halo 18) – (halo 19) – (halo 20) – (halo 21) – (halo 22) - (halo 23) – (halo 24) – (halo 25) – (halo 26) – (halo 27) - (halo 28) – (halo 29) – (halo 30) – (halo 31) – (halo 32)

seeds: (seed 1) – (seed 2) – (seed 3) – (seed 4) – (seed 5) – (seed 6) – (seed 7) – (seed 8)

Trent Reznor/Atticus Ross Film Soundtracks: null 1 - null 2 - (null 3) – (null 4) – (null 5) – (null 6) - (null 7)

Soundtracks/Miscellaneous: The Broken Movie - Natural Born Killers OST - Lost Highway OST

Live Shows: (NIN/Bauhaus/TV on the Radio-6/7/06 Atlanta, GA Hi-Fi Buys Amphitheater) – (NIN/Deerhunter-8/13/08 Duluth, GA Gwinnett Arena) - (Jane’s Addiction/NIN/Street Sweeper Social Club-5/10/09 Atlanta, GA Hi-Fi Buys Amphitheater) – NIN/Godspeed You! Black Emperor-10/24/18 Atlanta, GA Philips Arena - NIN/Jesus & Mary Chain/Tobacco-9/27/18 Atlanta, GA Fox Theatre

© thevoid99 2018

No comments:

Post a Comment